Twice as Nice

10 Sep

I have altered several dresses over the years, both for myself and for others. (and many for the PC Theatre department)  There are two dresses that I have altered twice, one a few years ago and one this weekend. On both dresses the first alternation and the second had drastic changes; but in a good way.

The first time I altered Megan’s dress was in the fall of 2008, as she was a bridesmaid in a friends weddings.  The alterations were simple the first time around, just a hem.

A few years later, Megan decided that she wanted to turn the skirt on this dress into a pencil skirt and shorten it. This was a bit more complicated, since the dress had a full skirt.  I cut triangle-shaped pieces out of the skirt, hacked cut off several inches and voilà,

Megan looked quite stunning in her new dress as we headed to the Boston Pops Christmas Show back in 2010. Who says you can’t wear a bridesmaid dress again?

This past spring, I hemmed a prom dress for my friend, Sue’s daughter. (Even on the dress form, the skirt hits the ground as it is my height and her daughter is quite a bit taller than me)

Sue contacted me again a few weeks ago as her daughter is attending a wedding and wanted the dress shortened.  The skirt on the dress is quite full, so I used the handy-dandy hemming tool on the dress form for the first time ever.

I was able to cut the bottom off in one giant piece and then a few snippets to clean it up a bit.  I hemmed the lining and this elegant gown was now a sassy cocktail dress.

I gave Sue a discounted rate on the alterations and in exchange she let me keep the fabric that I chopped off.  Since the skirt was so full, I have about a yard and a half of fabric left.  Now I just need to decide want to make.  I am thinking either a pencil skirt or the skirt on dress?  Thoughts?  Suggestions are welcome.

3 Responses to “Twice as Nice”

  1. Sizzle Food September 11, 2012 at 10:32 am #

    Shan these look awesome!! You did such a great job!!

  2. Brianne September 11, 2012 at 10:49 am #

    Nice work, I love the prom dress shortened!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pink and Black Dress « dresses and desserts - January 19, 2013

    […] in the fall, I turned a floor length ball  gown into a short cocktail dress for my friend Sue’s daughter.  At the time I asked if she wanted the fabric that I cut off […]

Leave a comment